Fiction – Elbow room



This is my fiction assignment which is also my last assignment of the whole 4 year course. I would say this is the most unplanned film I have ever made with a vague concept and script in my mind. I had done a very rough shot division. I shot and edited in 3 days. Everything was on the spot but yet it came out to be good. 

The title of the film is Elbow room. The film deals with a guy who is financially not well and is unable to study further. So, he takes up a job of a sweeper in a design institute and is taken aback by the surroundings and the environment.He keeps on rejecting himself for doing the mechanical job of a sweeper where as the surroundings also reject him as he is just a tiny part of the crowd. The feeling of rejection builds on and he resorts to the rescue.

I was trying to make this film since a month before my final jury which was on june 3rd, 2011. But it got delayed due some or the other reason. The major problem which I was facing was the availability of actors because of the juries and the cleantech uniform so that I could use the other cleantech people too in the background. Then 3 days before my jury, I found Kalp and the uniform (Thanks to the cleantech head for giving me the brand new uniform) and shot the film. Also, Anurag came along and played the role of the photographer. I would really like to thank him for being there to act whenever I wanted throughout the course. Also, Kalp who acted when there were only 2 days left for the jury.

I was not satisfied with this film at first but now after watching it over I think it has come to be very lyrical..but still not satisfied. Could have done better in terms of the execution.

Leave a Reply

